Monday, October 17, 2011

'I Am'

“Have this.”

“This is treasure.” His eyes were shining.

Yogi prepared himself for the meditation. For the meditation that is self-realizing!

“I am always in a relationship. I know how to deal with relationships. I purify my mind by cultivating a feeling of friendliness with happy people, situations. I develop the sense of compassion for them who are suffering. I experience gladness when with virtuous. I remain neutral with those who are perceived as wicked or evil."

"I develop these four types of attitudes, namely, Maîtra (friendship), Karuna (compassion), Mudita (gladness) and Upeksha (indifference or neutrality) to deal with relationships that help me make my mind clear and undisturbed. ” Said Yogi.

"This develops an ability to discriminate amongst people and situation and respond accordingly. This helps me understand and deal with my surrounding well. This makes me well placed in the society."

“Well, after this preparation for long time, there are multiple techniques of focusing the mind or making it experience one-pointedness.”

You should know that the seven chakras in our body are associated with the different states of mind. These Chakras are - Muladhar, Swadhisthan, Manipurak, Anahata, Vishuddha, Ajya, and Sahastrar. Concentrating on each Chakra with a given technique brings specific experience.

विशोका वा ज्योतिष्मती I

‘Vishoka va Jyotishmati’ is a state of mind that is ‘without any pain or suffering’ and ‘self illuminated with divine light’.

How do I achieve this state of mind?

“Okay, lets concentrate on Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra or cardiac Plexus). This chakra is a lotus which is facing downwards and the stem is upwards. With the Rechak (exhale) this lotus is made face upwards. (There are micro details about how to do this). In the center of this upward facing lotus resides ‘Om’. The stem of this lotus is connected to the Sushumna Naadi that reaches straight to Murdhna. This Naadi is called Brahma Naadi.”

“During the meditative state when one exercises the complete control over thoughts, the whole lotus appears like the Sun, the Moon, the constellations etc. It illuminates. Then it leads to a Sattvic light that’s self illuminated. With no reference. This is inner light. Divine."

"And since it is Sattvic, it is called ‘without suffering’ as there are no Rajas or Tamas attributes”.

Mind in this state experiences the ocean of calmness and stability.

Here the yogi experiences ‘I am’.

(Author’s 'free flow' explanation of 36th Sutra of Samadhi Pad of Patanjali’s Yog Sutras. Readers are suggested strictly not try any aspect of this meditation without guidance!)

1 comment:

  1. Dear friends,this is just one aspect of the meditation technique. And not complete. There are many aspects of preparation. Curious readers may message... Shubham Bhavatu!